Back and Better than Ever

by She Flies With Her Own Wings

It’s been over a year since I’ve wrote anything.  I wish I could say that I just got caught up and too busy with my senior year of college, but that would be a lie.  The truth is, exactly a year ago, I lost myself…I became a person that I didn’t want to be: bitter, cynical, angry, heartless, a loss of self-respect.  Don’t get me wrong, I had a very fun senior year…probably too fun…it was probably one of the best and worst years of my life.  But in losing myself and not liking the reflection of myself I was seeing, I was also able to discover the type of person I wanted to be, and about six months ago I finally became that person.  Don’t get my wrong, I still have my bad days, but for the first time in a long time I’m happy with who I am and where I am in life – I’m not trying to turn back time and I’m not trying to grow up any faster.

I decided about a month ago that I missed writing, and really wanted to start back up again.  I figured I would make it a sorta New Years resolution, that I would start 2014 with a blog entry… but then I thought ‘why wait?!?’ I’ve spent the past year waiting … waiting for my phone to ring, waiting for someone to tell me what to do next, waiting for someone to walk back into my life … and you know what? I’m tired of waiting.  Each day I make an effort to be the kind of person I am and want to be, I surround myself with people who bring out the best in me and encourage and support me in all that I do.  So today was as good of a day as any to start doing something again that brings me joy and that I am passionate about!

I’m back – happier than ever! And I can’t wait to start putting my thoughts back out there on ‘paper’!!

